Sep 28 2010

Taking the driving test at the DMV

Posted by Driving Teacher in

For the written portion of the driving test you study the Connecticut Driver’s Manual.

The CT DMV offers walk-in opportunities to take the written test at the following DMV locations: Bridgeport, Danbury, Enfield, Hamden, New Britain, Norwalk, Norwich, Old Saybrook, Waterbury, Wethersfield, and Winsted.It’s important to know that the on-the-road test is not given the same day as the knowledge test. After you pass your knowledge test, you must schedule an appointment for the on-the road portion of the test.

You must be prepared with all necessary documents before vision and knowledge testing will be given. When you arrive at DMV your first stop will be at the information desk where you will be instructed to enter your information into the kiosk to start the licensing process and receive a receipt. You will then be directed to the testing area. To begin testing you will need to present your kiosk receipt and the following:

1. Identification:

Please note: Effective July 1, 2010, Puerto Rico-issued birth certificates dated before July 1, 2010, need to be replaced by October 30, 2010.  Please see more detailed information.

You must present your certified Birth Certificate (hospital issued certificates are not acceptable) or valid Passport, in addition to one form of identification from list of acceptable forms of identification .  Photocopies of documents are not acceptable.   Note: If you have been issued a Connecticut Identification Card (ID), it must be surrendered when the driver license is issued.

Note: If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will be required to show proof of your legal status in this country.

  • Holders of a B1 or B2 Visitor’s Visa are not eligible for a driver license or identification card unless a valid USCIS Employment Authorization Card and verification of an application pending for Lawful Permanent Residence is provided.
  • Foreign students with an F1 Visa status must show USCIS document I-20 and verification of current enrollment in a Connecticut school.
  • J1 Visa holders are required to show USCIS document DS2019.
  • H1B Visa holders are required to show a valid USCIS Employment Authorization Card and an employee verification letter from a Connecticut employer.
  • All applicants will be verified through USCIS for legal status before a driver license or identification card will be issued.

2. Verification of your Connecticut Resident Address (P.O. Box is not acceptable): Verification may be in the form of a utility bill, mortgage document, lease or rental agreement, or postmarked mail dated within 90 days such as magazines, letters, etc.

3. Driver Education Certificate (CS1):  showing proof of attending an 8-hour course on Safe Driving Practices.  All applicants 18 years of age or older who have not previously held a license in Connecticut, or an out-of-state license within the past two years, will be required to take an 8-hour course on safe driving practices in Connecticut and present a CS-1 Driver Education Certificate showing proof of attending this course before taking a test to obtain a license .  This course can be taken through a commercial or secondary driving school.  The maximum fee for the course is $125.

4. Social Security Number: In accordance with the Social Security Act 42 U.S.C. 666 (a) (13), it will be required that the social security number of any applicant applying for a new driver license be recorded on the Application for a Non-Commercial Drivers License (form R-229).  If you do not have a social security number, you must obtain a letter from the Social Security Administration that states you are ineligible for a social security number.  This letter must be submitted to DMV when applying for your driver license, learner permit, or ID card.

5. $40.00 testing fee - Please see Acceptable Forms of Payment.

6. A completed R229 application form.

The test to receive your license is given in three parts: eye test, knowledge test, and road test. The eye test and 25 question knowledge test is given the first time you appear. After passing the knowledge test you will be able to schedule an appointment for the road test at any full service office as well as the Winsted satellite office. Following is a brief explanation of each of part of the test:

Eye Test

The eye test evaluates:

  1. Acuity (how clearly you see)
  2. Peripheral vision (how far you can see to either side while looking straight ahead)
  3. Depth and color perception.

The minimal vision requirements for all classes of license is at least 20/40 in each eye with or without glasses or contact lenses. But if the applicant is blind in one eye, the other eye must be at least 20/30.

Knowledge Test

The knowledge test consists of 25 questions; answering 20 correctly is considered passing. The test is based on the information contained in the Connecticut Driver’s Manual.  The applicant must pass the road test within 2 years of passing the knowledge test.

Road Test (Behind the Wheel Evaluation)

This test is given after the applicant has successfully passed the eye and knowledge test. The road test can be scheduled at any full service as well as the Winsted satellite, and must be no more than 2 years after passing the knowledge test. You must supply a vehicle for the road test. This vehicle must be appropriate for the license class for which you are applying, be mechanically safe, and have a valid registration and proof of insurance. Vehicles with tinted windows must be in compliance with Connecticut limits. A non-licensed operator cannot drive to the test location unless accompanied by a licensed operator.

Individuals using an out of state registered vehicle must bring a proof of the vehicle’s insurance.

If the test vehicle is found to be in an unsafe operating condition , the behind the-wheel evaluation will not be conducted; the applicant will be given a no fee card for a re-test at a future date. Road tests may be conducted if minor defects are found.

The road test evaluates:

* Safe condition of the test vehicle.

* Ability to properly adjust seat, mirror, seat belts (“preparing to drive”).

* Response to traffic control signs and signals, signaling, interaction with other motorists (yielding right-of-way, response to emergency vehicles).

* Backing and parking.

* Proficiency in basic driving skills such as turns.

* Other driver maneuvers at the direction of the inspector.

The road test generally takes 15 to 20 minutes. On the date of your road test you must bring the following:

1. A properly registered and insured vehicle appropriate for the type of test you are taking. If you do not have a valid driver’s license you can not test in a rented vehicle.

2. Valid Motor Vehicle Registration Certificate. Please verify that you have the current registration in the vehicle before you leave home and bring it into the office when you arrive for your test.

3. Connecticut Insurance card. The proof of insurance must be in the same name as on the registration, with the exception of leased vehicles which may be in the name of the lessee. Please verify that you have the current proof of insurance in the vehicle before you leave home and bring it into the office when you arrive for your test.

4. License Fee:  The fee for your license, will be either $66 or $77, depending on the number of years the license will be valid (from five and one-half to seven years), which depends on your date of birth. See acceptable forms of payment.

Failing the Driver’s Test:

* If you fail the vision test you will not be allowed to proceed to the other portions of the test until your vision has been corrected.

* If you fail the knowledge test portion you must wait one week (7 days) before you can take the test again and must pay another $40.00 testing fee.

* If you fail the road test you must wait a minimum of two weeks (14 days) before taking the road test again and must pay another $40.00 testing fee.